Congregation Emanu-El

7011 E. Central
Wichita, KS 67206

(316) 684-5148


Message from Rabbi Davis

Welcome to Congregation Emanu-El. The Wichita Jewish community has a long and rich history as well as a promising future and Emanu-El is a part of both. As the oldest Jewish congregation in Kansas (founded in 1885) and the home of Reform Judaism in this part of the state, we can look backwards and ahead with pride and optimism. Today, we are very proud of the opportunities we offer for worship, community, education and social activities.

I have had the honor of serving Congregation Emanu-El since 1995 and am very impressed with our congregants’ commitment to our Reform Jewish traditions, the Jewish community and to the continual effort to bring about Tikkun Olam (repairing our broken world). Our Youth Group is excited and exciting; our Religious School, superb; our services are filled with spirit and warmth and fellowship.

If you are in Wichita, I hope you will join us for a service or sit in on a class, take a moment to talk to Sisterhood or Brotherhood members and certainly stop by to see me anytime; I’d love the opportunity to chat.

I’m sure you will find Wichita as welcoming and warm as my family and I have.

Rabbi Michael A. Davis

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

Temple Events

Wednesday, August 2, 7:30 p.m.
CE Brotherhood Board

Sunday, August 6, 11:00 a.m.
Choir Rehearsal

Monday, August 7, 7:30 p.m.
CE Sisterhood Coffee Talk
& Board Meeting

Sunday, August 13, 12:30 p.m.
Choir Rehearsal

Wednesday, August 16, 7:00 p.m.
CE Board Meeting

Sunday, August 20, 12:30 p.m.
Choir Rehearsal
Ice Cream Social 4:00 p.m.

Sunday, August 27, 12:30 p.m.
Choir Rehearsal

 

Community Events

Sunday, August 6, 2:00 p.m.
Summer Film Series
(Wichita Art Museum)
Kosher Deli Dinner & Discussion (HC) 5:00 p.m.

Sunday, August 13, 10:30 a.m.
CE & HC Sisterhood Teacher Appreciation/ New Member Brunch (HC)

Wednesday, August 16, 11:45 a.m.
MKJF Café Chevre (CE)

Monday, August 21, 7:15 p.m.
Hadassah Board (Judy Eichhorn’s house)

Wednesday, August 23, 7:00 p.m.
JBJC Board Meeting (HC)

Sunday, August 27, 2:30 p.m.
Hadassah Book Club
(Evy Gregg’s home)
Hadassah Membership Social
4:00 p.m.(Evy Gregg’s home)

 

This Year in Photos

Read our current Ruach

August Sabbath Services

Friday, August 4
Erev Shabbat
7:00 p.m.

Saturday, August 5
Shabbat Morning
10:00 a.m.
Vaetchanan-Deut.3:23-7:11

Friday, August 11
Erev Shabbat
7:00 p.m.

Saturday, August 12
Shabbat Morning Service
10:00 a.m.
Ekev-Deut.7:12-11:25

Friday, August 18
Erev Shabbat
7:00 p.m.

Saturday, August 19
Shabbat Morning Service
10:00 a.m.
Re’eh-Deut.11:26-16:17

Friday, August 25
Erev Shabbat/ CE Choir
7:00 p.m.

Saturday, August 26
Erev Shabbat

Saturday, July 29
Shabbat Morning Service
10:00 a.m.
Shoftim-Deut.16:18-21:9